New Found Records, Program EP 660

"Music from 1982 - Part 2 of 3"

DESCRIPTION/PLAYLISTS/BREAK TIMES

Airs February 26, 2022 on CHMR 93.5 FM

DESCRIPTION

Once again we flashback 40 years and check out Newfoundland vinyl that dropped in 1982.

On the platter... a few tracks from the rather obscure final LP by "Newfoundland's Favourite Son"... Ottawa's "Singing Policeman" sings a light-hearted ditty about Newfoundland & Labrador's new found oil wealth... "The Flying Fiddler" lays down his fiddle and goes country, and "The Accordion Playing Fiddler' best known for his accordion, put that instrument down and picks up the fiddle.

Lots more great music from 1982 stacked on the table as well.

SHORT PLAYLIST

A. FRANK WILLIS: Twin Brother Jack

HARRY HIBBS: Glenswilley

DOMINIC D'ARCY: Sheik of Newfoundland

FINNIGAN: The Boogie Woogie Newfie's Lobster Shuffle

FINNIGAN & FRIENDS: The Island

JOHN LANE: Bluer Than Blue

KEVIN BEANLAND: You'll Never Hold Me

REG WATKINS & LORETTA CORMIER: One Sided Love

DAVE & AUBREY: Lonely Night Feelings

RAY JOHNSON: Cabot Tower Hill RAY JOHNSON: Sarah O'Dea HARRY HIBBS: Dan O'Hara

HARRY HIBBS: The Humour Is On Me

LONG PLAYLIST

A. FRANK WILLIS: Twin Brother Jack (Trad.)

'Live - Party Time', Hare Records WRC1-2339, circa 1981-2.

Bass - Left foot; Organ - Right foot; Cymbals - Right foot too; Acoustic guitar, harmonica, electric

guitar, and percussion boxes - A. Frank.

Personnel: A. Frank Willis, Harry Hibbs. Prod: Sonny Tompkins.

Eng: Blair Packham. Rec: Oaks Farms, Scarborough, ON.

HARRY HIBBS: Glenswilley (Michael McGinley)

'A Musical Tour of Ireland,' Fantasia FR8201, circa 1982.

Personnel: Brian Barron (Fiddle/Mandolin), Larry Brennan (Drums), Roddy Lepriere (Drums),

Curtiss Frizzell (Bass), Steve Perry (Fiddle), Paul Emms (Steel), Reggie Benoit (Rhythm), Mike

Thompson (Harmonica), Lou Grant (Keyboards, Acoustic Lead, Rhythm, Bass).

Background vocals by Jackie Taylor, Jean Derbyshire, Ricky Yorke.

Prod: Marty Hibbs. Eng: Charlie Culver, Tom Atom

DOMINIC D'ARCY: Sheik of Newfoundland (D. D'Arcy/E. Smith/D. Alkerton)

45 rpm single Diana DO-1029B circa 1982

Eng: David Dennison. Prod: Ted Gerow

FINNIGAN: The Boogie Woogie Newfie's Lobster Shuffle (Peter Stoney)

45 rpm single Banana Records SAR 204. circa 1982

FINNIGAN & FRIENDS: The Island (Kenzie McNeill)

'The Old Home Summer', Banana Records WRC1-2156, 1982

Peter Stoney, Jim Flynn & many others.

Prod: Finnigan. Rec: Reel Time Recorders, Dartmouth, NS. Eng: Chuck O'Hara.

JOHN LANE: Bluer Than Blue (Everett Adams)

45 rpm single, News Flash Sounds EA-01, 1982

Lead Guitar – Neil Bishop. Produced by Everett Adams

Eng: Neil Bishop and Claude Caines

Rec: Clode Sound Studios

KEVIN BEANLAND: You'll Never Hold Me (Kevin Beanland)

45 rpm single - QUAY CS8088, circa 1982

Prod: Kevin Beanland. Eng: Neil Bishop & Claude Caines. Rec: Clode Sound Prod., Stephenville, NL.

REG WATKINS & LORETTA CORMIER: One Sided Love (Reg Watkins)

'Solid Gold Mountain', Lone Raven LR 711, 1982

Personnel: Paul Fortier (Bass), Barry Keane (Drums), Pepe Francis (Electric Guitar), Bob Lucier (Steel), Art De Villier (Acoustic Guitar), John Arpin (Piano), Sam Hersenhoren/Isidor Desser/Sonia Klimasko (Strings)

Prod: John Arpin & Gary Buck. Eng: David Balan

DAVE & AUBREY: Lonely Night Feelings (Nancy Little)

'Shove 'Er in Second', WRC1-2098, 1982

Recorded at Clode Sound Studios, Stephenville, NL

Acoustic & Electric Guitars: Neil Bishop; Piano & Steel Guitar: Mel Aucoin; Bass: Claude Caines; Drums: Ted McNeil; Lead Vocals: Dave Pike and Aubrey Sweetapple; Background Vocals: Betty Jean Hynes and Tommy Dovle.

Produced and engineered and mixed by Neil Bishop and Claude Caines.

RAY JOHNSON: Cabot Tower Hill (R. Johnson)

'A Breath Of Newfoundland', Pigeon Inlet Prod. PIP-738. circa 1982.

Personnel: Ray Johnson (Accordion/Violin/Vocals), J. C. Johnson (Vocals), Ollie Smith (Piano), Ted Rowe (Guitar), Nels Giles (Bass), Roger Skinner (Drums).

Rec: BPI Studio, St. John's. Prod: Peter Narvaez & Neil Rosenberg

RAY JOHNSON: Sarah O'Dea (R. Johnson/J.C. Johnson)

'A Breath Of Newfoundland', Pigeon Inlet Prod. PIP-738. circa 1982.

Personnel: Ray Johnson (Accordion/Violin/Vocals), J. C. Johnson (Vocals), Ollie Smith (Piano), Ted Rowe (Guitar), Nels Giles (Bass), Roger Skinner (Drums).

Rec: BPI Studio, St. John's. Prod: Peter Narvaez & Neil Rosenberg

HARRY HIBBS: Dan O'Hara (Unidentified on album)

'A Musical Tour of Ireland,' Fantasia FR8201, circa 1982.

Personnel: Brian Barron (Fiddle/Mandolin), Larry Brennan (Drums), Roddy Lepriere (Drums), Curtiss Frizzell (Bass), Steve Perry (Fiddle), Paul Emms (Steel), Reggie Benoit (Rhythm), Mike Thompson (Harmonica), Lou Grant (Keyboards, Acoustic Lead, Rhythm, Bass).

Background vocals by Jackie Taylor, Jean Derbyshire, Ricky Yorke.

Prod: Marty Hibbs. Eng: Charlie Culver, Tom Atom

HARRY HIBBS: The Humour Is On Me (Unidentified on album)

'A Musical Tour of Ireland,' Fantasia FR8201, circa 1982.

Personnel: Brian Barron (Fiddle/Mandolin), Larry Brennan (Drums), Roddy Lepriere (Drums), Curtiss Frizzell (Bass), Steve Perry (Fiddle), Paul Emms (Steel), Reggie Benoit (Rhythm), Mike Thompson (Harmonica), Lou Grant (Keyboards, Acoustic Lead, Rhythm, Bass).

Background vocals by Jackie Taylor, Jean Derbyshire, Ricky Yorke.

Prod: Marty Hibbs. Eng: Charlie Culver, Tom Atom

BREAK TIMES

First break begins:	09:37
First break ends	10:47
Length of break One	01:10
Second break begins	29:52
Second break ends	31:40
Length of break Two	01:48
Total length of program	55:00